Current Event, Journey, Life, Reaction

A Culture of Indolence

Typical Pinoy time

Christmas break is just around the corner. And as always everybody will just sit back, have an ice cold drink(beer or anything) and relax. But here a typical Filipino will be shown to the world on how “TAMAD” we really are. For the past 30 years of my entire life, I’ve been seeing this typical trait of the majority of the common people, to a point where I’m just ignoring it. But deep inside, I am disgusted on how we are incline to this kind of behavior. Is this cultural? Filipino DNA? I dunno, but the point is that, this trait which had been clinging into every Filipino must stop!

How many Filipinos still believe that the government will help them to change their poor condition into something modest? Just go to the slums and you will see what I mean. A typical man sitting-duck in the side walk in the early morning as if waiting for something to come when there is none. Who rather make something productive, will just go to a store and kill time with others like them till it’s time to take lunch! Don’t tell me the “sobrang gasgas” sentence that there is no jobs around! The truth is, there are too many jobs! All they need is a little “diskarte” to land for a good and decent job!

I cannot blame other people if they think of us as indolent or lazy! I cannot blame the world if they see us as a 3rd world country due to our sluggishness. Just visit a typical barrio to see how sluggish their lives are. I don’t say that simple life is bad, but they need to learn that that kind of life style is not appropriate any more in this modern times.

Maybe I’m just ranting against them, maybe I just don’t understand their situation, but HELL, I cannot live that kind of sluggish life! I live in the modern days, I’m living a fast-paced life and laziness is not part of my vocabulary anymore because I have a future I’m thinking of! And I don’t depend my self in the government! If the government gave back something for me, well thank you! If they give not, then I don’t care! Just carry on and finish the task at hand and be more productive than ever!

This is how real life is now in this world, indolence cannot survive this world no more. Just look around! We are being left behind by the other countries and slowly we are becoming just a mere servants in our own land because they strive while we are not! If this culture still continues, then I hate to say this (hope not in my life time) but, we are seeing a dark scenario of our lives to come!

These idlers could have easily applied for a job if he is qualified, but because they are not educated enough, they are not. So what do they do? Go to Manang’s sari-sari store, mangutang ng 10 bote ng gin at maging sunog-baga hanggang madaling araw. A typical sunog-baga may say: I haven’t finished elementary so I can’t find a job. I’m too old to study again. So I’ll just hang around, laugh and drink with my friends until I die. But of course, making the Philippine educational system better would not make the situation better. This kind of example is just tangential to the real cause: a culture of indolence. Even those who can afford schooling and even those who are greatly educated are still prone to become indolent because it’s a culture, a shared culture that is. On a positive note, Rizal noted: “Indolence in the Philippines is a chronic malady, but not a hereditary one.” – Alfred Miguel M. Aguado

http://www.alpsaguado.com/2008/12/a-culture-of-indolence/

About Darc xeD

Sometimes its good to write a lil' story about your life, for it's about sharing the experience you have to the world.

Discussion

One thought on “A Culture of Indolence

  1. hindi naman siguro lahat ng pilipino!

    Posted by Vinz Ramos | January 18, 2012, 8:15 AM

Leave a Reply

..and I Quote

quotes Darc likes


"Sometimes, it's good to write a lil' story about your life, for it's about sharing the experience you have to the world." - Frederick Bolastig
Follow dextrerium on Twitter
The Professional Heckler

"The problem with political jokes is they get elected.**"

The Laker Hoop Gang

(haters welcome)

One Furious Llama

Do you know reason? Let me show you it.

The Road

Life is about the ride, not the destination

Hackaday

Fresh hacks every day

Harry Roque's Blog

Thoughts of an activist lawyer

Shark Attack Watch

Reported shark attacks around the World.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Brooke's Faces Of Life

Life is a continous adventure, learning and hoping

The Atheist Freedom Wall

The garden is beautiful. No need for fairies.

